Visiting Scholars

Through the generous support of benefactors, visiting scholars from all over the world are invited to The MacMillan Center to conduct research, teach courses, and interact with students, staff and faculty. The Center, in conjunction with its various Councils, Departments, and Programs, is proud to host the following visiting scholars for 2016-2017:

Oladoyin Abiona
Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistant - Yoruba
oladoyin.abiona@yale.edu
African Studies
Anthony Acciavatti
Postdoctoral Associate, Agrarian Studies
anthony.acciavatti@yale.edu
Agrarian Studies
Naysan Adlparvar
Postdoctoral Fellow, Iranian Studies and Middle East Studies
Naysan.Adlparvar@yale.edu
Website
Iranian Studies; Middle East Studies
Nicholas Alipui
Senior Fellow and Lecturer, African Studies and Global Health
nicholas.alipui@yale.edu
African Studies
Andre Asplund
Postdoctoral Associate, East Asian Studies
andre.asplund@yale.edu
Website
East Asian Studies
Manuel Barcia Paz
Visiting Fellow
manuel.barcia@yale.edu
Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition
Harry Blair
Senior Research Scholar, Director of Undergraduate Studies- South Asian Studies
harry.blair@yale.edu
Website
South Asian Studies
Bhawani Buswala
Postdoctoral Associate, South Asian Studies
bhawani.buswala@yale.edu
South Asian Studies
Sabine Cadeau
Postdoctoral Associate, Agrarian Studies
sabine.cadeau@yale.edu
Agrarian Studies
Wei Chen
Visiting Fellow, Global Justice Program
wei.chen@yale.edu
Global Justice Program
Kyung-soo Chun
Visiting Professor, Council on East Asian Studies
kyung-soo.chun@yale.edu
Website
Council on East Asian Studies
Jenipha Chuwa
Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistant - Kiswahili
jenipha.chuwa@yale.edu
African Studies
Abigail Cooper
Visiting Fellow, Gilder Lehrman Center
abigail.cooper@yale.edu
Gilder Lehrman Center
Debojyoti Das
Postdoctoral Fellow
debojyoti.das@yale.edu
South Asian Studies Council
Devi Reeta Devi
Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistant - Hindi
reetadevi.devi@yale.edu
South Asian Studies
Amy Dunagin
Lewis Walpole Library Post-Doctoral Associate and Lecturer
amy.dunagin@yale.edu
Website
European Studies
Hannes Ebert
Postdoctoral Fellow in Council on South Asian Studies
hannes.ebert@yale.edu
South Asian Studies Council
Thomas Elsaesser
Visiting Professor
thomas.elsaesser@yale.edu
Lucas Entel
Postdoctoral Associate (Spring 2017)
lucas.entel@yale.edu
Hugh Flick
Lecturer in the MacMillan Center
hugh.flick@yale.edu
MacMillan Center
Kurt Forster
Visiting Professor of Architecture
kurt.forster@yale.edu
Website
Christienna Fryar
Visiting Assistant Professor, Gilder Lehrman Center
christienna.fryar@yale.edu
Gilder Lehrman Center
Reinaldo Funes Monzote
Henry Hart Rice Family Foundation Visiting Professor
reinaldo.funesmonzote@yale.edu
The MacMillan Center
Alexandre Gajevic Sayegh
Postdoctoral Fellow, Gilder Lehrman Center
alex.gajevic@yale.edu
Gilder Lehrman Center
Eduardo Garcia
Visiting Fellow, European Studies Council
eduardo.garcia@yale.edu
European Studies
Francesca Grandi
Post-Graduate Associate and Lecturer, Political Science
francesca.grandi@yale.edu
Website
The MacMillan Center
Bernt Hagtvet
Visiting Professor, European Studies Council
bernt.hagtvet@yale.edu
European Studies
Sreang Heng
Visiting Research Scholar
sreang.heng@yale.edu
Marina Henriques Gomes De Andrade
Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistant - Portuguese
marina.andrade@yale.edu
Latin American and Iberian Studies
Wendy Hesford
Visiting Professor, Gilder Lehrman Center
wendy.hesford@yale.edu
Gilder Lehrman Center
Robert Hopkins
Lecturer in African Studies
robert.hopkins@yale.edu
Council on African Studies
Jolyon Howorth
Visiting Professor
jolyon.howorth@yale.edu
Ana Maria Ibanez Londono
Rice Faculty Fellow and Visiting Professor, Latin American and Iberian Studies
anamaria.ibanezlondono@yale.edu
Latin American and Iberian Studies
Tomoyasu Iiyama
Visiting Research Scholar, East Asian Studies
tyama618@gmail.com
East Asian Studies
Tomoyasu
Visiting Research Scholar, East Asian Studies
ti96@yale.edu
East Asian Studies
Tammy Ingram
Visiting Associate Professor, Gilder Lehrman Center
tammy.ingram@yale.edu
Gilder Lehrman Center
Despoina Karamperidou
Postgraduate Fellow, Order Conflict, and Violence
despoina.karamperidou@yale.edu
Order, Conflict, and Violence
Ulla Kasten
Research Scholar, Middle East Studies
ulla.kasten@yale.edu
Website
Middle East Studies
Volodymyr Kulyk
Visiting Professor, European Studies Council
volodymyr.kulyk@yale.edu
European Studies
Andres Kurg
Spring 2017 Juris Padegs Visiting Senior Researcher in European Studies
andres.kurg@yale.edu
European Studies Council
Egor Lazarev
Postgraduate Associate, Order, Conflict, and Violence
egor.lazarev@yale.edu
Website
Order, Conflict, and Violence
Sarah LeBaron von Baeyer
Lecturer
sarah.lebaronvonbaeyer@yale.edu
Website
East Asian Studies
Lawrence Liang
Postdoctoral Associate
lawrence.liang@yale.edu
Website
South Asian Studies
Malte Lierl
Postdoctoral Associate, African Studies
malte.lierl@yale.edu
African Studies
Joshua Lynn
Postdoctoral Associate, YCRI
joshua.lynn@yale.edu
Website
Center for the Study of Representative Institutions
Xiaoyan Ma
Visiting Fellow, Global Justice Program
xiaoyan.ma@yale.edu
Salimeh Maghsoudlou
Postdoctoral Associate, Middle East Studies
salimeh.maghsoudlou@yale.edu
Website
Middle East Studies
Juan Masullo Jimenez
Postgraduate Associate, Order, Conflict, and Violence
juan.masullo@yale.edu
Website
Order, Conflict, and Violence
Erik Mathisen
Visiting Fellow
erik.mathisen@yale.edu
Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition
Jessica Melvin
Rice Faculty Fellow and Postdoctoral Associate, Southeast Asia Studies
jess.melvin@yale.edu
Southeast Asia Studies
Jolanta Mickute
Spring 2017 Joseph P. Kazickas Visiting Assistant Professor in Baltic Studies
jolanta.mickute@yale.edu
European Studies Council
Ian Miller
Postdoctoral Associate, Agrarian Studies
ian.m.miller@yale.edu
Agrarian Studies
Virginia Oliveros
Visiting Assistant Professor, Program on Democracy
virginia.oliveros@yale.edu
Program on Democracy
Sidal Oner
Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistant - Turkish
sidal.oner@yale.edu
Website
Middle East Studies
Marc Opper
Postdoctoral Associate, East Asian Studies
marc.opper@yale.edu
Website
East Asian Studies
Joy Pachuau
Visiting Fellow, Agrarian Studies
joy.pachuau@yale.edu
Agrarian Studies
Ninad Pandit
Postdoctoral Associate, South Asian Studies
ninad.pandit@yale.edu
South Asian Studies
Filippos Papageorgiou
Postgraduate Associate, Order, Conflict, and Violence
filippos.papageorgiou@yale.edu
Order, Conflict, and Violence
Thy Phu
Visiting Associate Professor, Canadian Studies/Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
thy.phu@yale.edu
Canadian Studies
Eva Piirimae
Spring 2017 Juris Padegs Visiting Associate Professor in Baltic Studies
eva.piirimae@yale.edu
European Studies Council
Mathias Rodorff
Postgraduate Fellow, Gilder Lehrman Center
rodorff@yale.edu
Gilder Lehrman Center
Joao Rodrigues
Visiting Fellow, European Studies Council
joao.rodrigues@yale.edu
European Studies
Ivan Safranchuk
Lecturer, Council on European Studies and Russian Studies
ivan.safranchuk@yale.edu
European Studies Council
Yuriy Sergeyev
Rice Faculty Fellow and Lecturer
yuriy.sergeyev@yale.edu
European Studies
Anastasia Shesterinina
Visiting Fellow
anastasia.shesterinina@yale.edu
Program on Order, Conflict, and Violence
Elena Shih
Visiting Fellow, Gilder Lehrman Center
elena.shih@yale.edu
Gilder Lehrman Center
Esra Siagian
Postgraduate Fellow, Southeast Asia Studies
esra.siagian@yale.edu
Southeast Asia Studies
Mark Somos
Post-doctoral Associate, YCRI
mark.somos@yale.edu
Center for the Study of Representative Institutions
Haley Swedlund
Visiting Fellow, African Studies
haley.swedlund@yale.edu
African Studies
Cindi Textor
Postdoctoral Associate
cindi.textor@yale.edu
East Asian Studies
Ralph Thaxton Jr
Visiting Professor, Council on East Asian Studies
ralph.thaxtonjr@yale.edu
Council on East Asian Studies
Vaidotas Vaicaitis
Joseph P. Kazickas Visiting Associate Professor in Baltic Studies
vaidotas.vaicaitis@yale.edu
European Studies Council
Hamish van der Ven
Postdoctoral Fellow, Canadian Studies
hamish.vanderven@yale.edu
Canadian Studies
Martijn Vlaskamp
Postdoctoral Fellow, Order, Conflict, and Violence
martijn.vlaskamp@yale.edu
Program on Order, Conflict, and Violence
Ekaterina Voronina
Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistant - Russian
ekaterina.voronina@yale.edu
European Studies
Veronica Waweru
Lecturer in African Studies
veronica.waweru@yale.edu
African Studies
Xiangdong Xu
Visiting Fellow, Global Justice Program
xiangdong.xu@yale.edu
Global Justice Program
Kuraudo Yamamoto
Postdoctoral Associate, East Asian Studies
kuraudo.yamamoto@yale.edu
East Asian Studies
Soo Ryon Yoon
Postdoctoral Associate
sooryon.yoon@yale.edu
East Asian Studies
Zulfirman
Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistant - Indonesian
zulfirman.zulfirman@yale.edu
Southeast Asia Studies