Russia and Asia in the 20th & 21st Centuries Conference

Event time: 
Friday, November 15, 2019 - 9:00am to Saturday, November 16, 2019 - 5:00pm
Henry R. Luce Hall (LUCE ), 101 (Auditorium) See map
34 Hillhouse Avenue
New Haven, CT 06511
Event description: 

This two day conference will address the main issues in Russian and Asian history and politics from the 1920s on, with an emphasis on the Cold War era and recent developments. Faculty Hosts: Paul Bushkovitch (Yale University), David Engerman (Yale University), and Thomas Graham (Yale University)
Conference Schedule:
Day 1 | Friday, November 15
10 am — Coffee in Luce Common Room
10:30 am — Welcome and Introductory Remarks, Paul Bushkovitch (Yale University)
11 am — Panel I: Russia and Asia before 1945
Chair: Denise Ho (Yale University)
Discussant: Peter Perdue (Yale University)
Paul Bushkovitch (Yale University)
Katerina Clark (Yale University)
Alexander Pantsov (Capital University)

12:30 — Lunch in Luce Common Room

2 pm — Panel II: The USSR, Japan & South Asia
Chair: Edyta Bojanowska (Yale University)
Discussant: David Engerman (Yale University)
Tsuyoshi Hasegawa (University of California, Santa Barbara)
Hari Vasudevan (University of Calcutta, India)
Ali Raza (Lahore University of Management Sciences, Pakistan)
3:30 pm — Break in Luce Common Room
4 pm — Panel III: Near East
Chair: Jinyi Chu (Yale University)
Discussant: Doug Rogers (Yale University)
Artemy Kalinovsky (University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands)
Masha Kirasirova (New York University Abu Dhabi, UAE)
Rossen Djagalov (New York University)
Day 2 | Saturday, November 16
11:30 am — Coffee in Luce Common Room
12 pm — Keynote Address, Odd Arne Westad (Yale University)
12:30 — Panel IV: The USSR and China
Chair/Discussant: Valerie Hansen (Yale University)
Xiaoyuan Liu (University of Virginia)
Sergey Radchenko (Cardiff University, UK)
Elizabeth McGuire (California State University, East Bay)
2 pm — Lunch in Luce Common Room
3 pm — Roundtable: Russia and Asia Today
Chair: Thomas Graham (Yale University)
Jeanne Wilson (Wheaton College)
Ivan Safranchuk (MGIMO University, Russia; Yale University)
Dmitri Trenin (Carnegie Moscow Center, Russia)
Mark N. Katz (George Mason University)