Media Releases 2020

December 14, 2020. SSRC 2020 Albert O. Hirschman Prize ceremony and lecture featuring James Scott

December 9, 2020. 2020 Frederick Douglass Book Prize winner announced

December 7, 2020. Yale and UNAM Launched Gender Studies Network

December 2, 2020. Eduardo Fernandez-Duque receives John P. McGovern Award Lecture in the Behavioral Sciences

December 2, 2020. Visual Resources of the Middle East project created at Yale

November 17, 2020. Winners announced for 2020 Latino and Iberian Film Festival at Yale

November 16, 2020. Kaveh Madani awarded American Geophysical Union’s Ambassador Award for 2020

November 11, 2020. Program on Peace and Development created at the MacMillan Center

October 29, 2020. New Yale and Brazil website

October 7, 2020. MacMillan Center cosponsors Global Health Conversation Series with YIGH

October 1, 2020. 2020 Frederick Douglass Book Prize Finalists

September 10, 2020. Ernesto Zedillo appointed to Independent Panel on Global Pandemic Preparedness and Response

September 9, 2020. Professors Harms and Listokin awarded MacMillan Center International Book Prizes

September 8, 2020.  The Council on Latin American and Iberian Studies at Yale and Fundación Antonio Núñez Jiménez in Cuba partner on the Program in Cuban Studies

July 20, 2020. James C. Scott awarded 2020 Albert O. Hirschman Prize

July 14, 2020. The Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition receives Connecticut Humanities Award

June 9, 2020. Contemporary Iran Forum announced by the Program in Iranian Studies at Yale

May 12, 2020. Rohit De awarded Andrew Carnegie Fellowship

May 6, 2020. Three Yale affiliates to study at Stanford as Knight-Hennessey Scholars

May 5, 2020.  Yale historian Grandin wins 2020 Pulitzer Prize in nonfiction

May 1, 2020. New leadership announced for South Asian Studies Council

April 29, 2020. Faculty members honored with election to AAAS

April 29, 2020. Marcia Inhorn appointed Chair for Council on Middle East Studies

April 15, 2020. Three faculty win Guggenheim Fellowships

April 1, 2020. Whitney MacMillan, longtime friend of Yale, and namesake of the Whitney and Betty MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies, dies at the age of 90

March 25, 2020. David Blight receives highest honor from American Academy of Arts and Letters

March 12, 2020. The Sanneh Institute celebrates inauguration in Accra

February 12, 2020. Additional book awards for Bojanowska’s “A World of Empires”

January 28, 2020. 21st Annual Hall Lecture given by William W. Kelly

January 7, 2020. Maria Kaliambou awarded Greek Diaspora Fellowship

January 7, 2020. Alice Kaplan named director of the Whitney Humanities Center